The future of #AI.

We have people giving opinions on a complex subject that for all practical purposes seem to contradict each other. I’ll give them this, they are some smart people; all of them have demonstrated vision and accomplished quite a few things over the years. People like Elon Musk, Ki Fu Lee, and Stephen Hawking have been sounding alarms on what the future will be in AI. We are hearing everything from AI is an existential threat to humanity to fifty percent of the workforce will be made obsolete in the next fifteen years. Of course, some world leaders have made outrageous statements like “The first nation to master AI will rule the world.” Statements like this can lead to an AI arms race where nobody wins. The other side is, we need to make more breakthroughs to achieve AGI (Artificial General Intelligence) even then, we can contain it. Economist are saying the market will adapt.

I’m of the opinion, the issues are a bit more nuanced. We are seeing how AI can augment decision making in data centers, education, health care among other domains.

So, for the next few months, I’ll be interviewing people, try to understand what the issues are, and try to come up with what are the real questions we should be asking.

On Friday, January 8th 2021, we will start this conversation with Dr. Olesya Zmazneva and Jean-Eric Pelet. What will the AI world look like in fifteen years?

Zoom link:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86229320207?pwd=SGNkYlUrdEYvU2VoUUg2VW9iSlRQQT09

When:

4AM New York USA

9AM London England

10AM Paris France  

12PM Moscow Russia

Leave a Reply